What Is Bantamweight Ufc?

Bantamweight is a weight class in mixed martial arts (MMA) and one of the nine weight divisions recognized by the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC). It sits below the featherweight division and above the flyweight division, with a bantamweight fighter typically weighing between 135 and 145 pounds.

Checkout this video:

What is Bantamweight UFC?

The bantamweight division in UFC is for fighters between 125 and 135 pounds. The title holder in this division is Petr Yan, who defeated Jose Aldo to win the vacant title in July 2020.

The different weight classes in UFC

There are different weight classes in UFC, with the bantamweight division being one of them. The bantamweight division is for fighters who weigh between 125 and 135 pounds.

The history of the Bantamweight division

Bantamweight is a weight class in mixed martial arts. It sits between featherweight and lightweight. The UFC (Ultimate Fighting Championship) Bantamweight division was created in 2010, with the first champion being crowned that year.

The bantamweight limit in the UFC was initially 143 pounds (65 kg) but was dropped to 135 pounds (61 kg) in December 2012. The limit had previously been 135 pounds (61 kg) in other organizations such as Strikeforce and WEC (World Extreme Cagefighting), which merged with the UFC.

The current state of the Bantamweight division

Bantamweight is a weight class in mixed martial arts (MMA), as well as in boxing, kickboxing, Muay Thai, and taekwondo. In MMA, the bantamweight class limit is 135 lb (61 kg), which is also the limit for the flyweight class. The UFC Bantamweight Championship is currently held by Aljamain Sterling.

The top contenders in the Bantamweight division

In the Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts, the bantamweight division is for fighters weighing no more than 136 pounds (61.2 kg). The bantamweight division in MMA has its origins in the original Japanese incarnation of Shooto, which established a 135-pound weight class in 1992. In January 1997, the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) adopted Shooto’s weight classes for their own tournament. UFC Bantamweight Champions were determined by tournament until 2001, when a weight class system was implemented. The first UFC Bantamweight Champion under this new system was Caol Uno, who defeated Pascal Poschenrieder at UFC 32.

The current UFC Bantamweight Champion is Petr Yan, who defeated Jose Aldo on July 11, 2020, at UFC 251. Yan is also the first Russian-born champion in UFC history.

The bantamweight title has been held by some of the most accomplished MMA fighters in history, such as Ronda Rousey, Dominick Cruz, and TJ Dillashaw.

The future of the Bantamweight division

With the recent retirement of UFC Bantamweight champion Dominick Cruz, the future of the bantamweight division is up in the air. While there are plenty of talented fighters in the division, there is no clear-cut number one contender.

The bantamweight division has always been one of the more competitive and exciting weight classes in the UFC. With so many talented fighters, it is often hard to predict who will come out on top. The division has seen its share of ups and downs, but one thing is for sure, it is always exciting.

The future of the bantamweight division will be determined by who can take advantage of this opportunity and become the new face of the division. There are a lot of talented fighters in the division, but only time will tell who will be able to take advantage of this opportunity and become champion.

Why the Bantamweight division is important

Bantamweight is one of the weight divisions in the UFC, along with featherweight, lightweight, welterweight, middleweight, light heavyweight, and heavyweight. The bantamweight division was created in late 2010, when the UFC merged with World Extreme Cagefighting (WEC). The WEC had a separate bantamweight division for fighters weighing between 126–135 pounds (57–61 kg).

The UFC’s bantamweight division is for fighters aged 21 and over, who weigh no more than 135 lb (61 kg). The upper limit of the weight class was increased from 126 lb (57 kg) to 135 lb in early 2012.

The bantamweight division is important because it gives smaller fighters an opportunity to compete in the UFC. In addition, the division provides more options for match-ups, which can lead to more exciting fights.

What the Bantamweight division means for the sport of MMA

The Bantamweight division in the UFC is for fighters who weigh in at no more than 135 pounds. This weight class was established in 2010, and since then has been one of the most popular and competitive divisions in the UFC.

The Bantamweight division is home to some of the most exciting and skilled fighters in the UFC, such as current Champion Petr Yan, former Champion TJ Dillashaw, and rising star Aljamain Sterling. These fighters are among the best in the world at their weight, and regularly put on thrilling fights that fans can’t get enough of.

The Bantamweight division is an important part of the UFC because it provides fans with action-packed fights that are easy to follow. The fighters in this division are often well-rounded and able to compete in a variety of different styles, which makes for exciting and unpredictable fights.

If you’re a fan of MMA, then you should definitely check out the Bantamweight division – you won’t be disappointed!

How the Bantamweight division has evolved over time

In the early days of the UFC, there were only eight weight divisions. Fighters were placed into these divisions based on their weight, with no distinction made between weight classes. The Lightweight division was for fighters between 156 and 170 pounds, and the Bantamweight division was for those between 171 and 185 pounds.

However, as the sport of mixed martial arts has evolved, so too has the UFC’s weight class system. In 2001, the UFC introduced four new weight divisions: Welterweight (171-185 pounds), Light Heavyweight (186-205 pounds), Middleweight (206-265 pounds), and Heavyweight (266+ pounds). The Lightweight and Bantamweight divisions were merged into one division, called the Lightweight division.

The Bantamweight division would not be reintroduced into the UFC until 2010, when it was created as part of the new Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts. The current Bantamweight limit is 135 pounds.

Since its re-introduction, the Bantamweight division has been one of the most competitive and entertaining in all of MMA. It is currently home to some of the biggest stars in the sport, such as Dominick Cruz, T.J. Dillashaw, and Cody Garbrandt.

The impact of the Bantamweight division on the UFC

In 2011, the UFC created the bantamweight division for female fighters. This was done in order to fill a void in the UFC’s women’s divisions. The bantamweight division has become one of the most popular and action-packed divisions in the UFC.

The bantamweight division is currently home to some of the biggest names in women’s MMA, such as Ronda Rousey, Amanda Nunes, and Valentina Shevchenko. These athletes have helped to make the bantamweight division one of the most anticipation-filled and entertaining weight classes in all of MMA.

Scroll to Top