Who Is the UFC Welterweight Champion?

Who is the UFC welterweight champion? This is a question that many people are asking these days. The answer may surprise you.

Checkout this video:

The current UFC Welterweight Champion is Kamaru Usman.

Kamaru Usman is the current UFC Welterweight Champion. He won the title on March 2, 2019, when he defeated Tyron Woodley by unanimous decision at UFC 235. Usman is undefeated in the UFC, with a record of 12-0.

Usman’s path to the title

Kamaru Usman’s path to the title began with a humble start. He was born in Benin City, Nigeria, and moved to the United States when he was just seven years old. He began his mixed martial arts (MMA) training in Las Vegas, Nevada.

In 2009, Usman made his professional MMA debut. He competed in a number of small promotions before finally making his way to the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) in 2015. He quickly made a name for himself, winning his first six UFC fights.

In 2019, Usman finally got his shot at the UFC welterweight title. He faced off against then-champion Tyron Woodley in what was one of the most anticipated fights of the year. Usman emerged victorious, and he has held the title ever since.

The welterweight division’s history

The welterweight division is a weight class in mixed martial arts. It is contested at weights of up to 170 pounds (77 kg). The UFC welterweight championship is currently held by Kamaru Usman, who is also the reigning UFC Lightweight Champion.

The welterweight championship was first created in 1997. The inaugural champion was Bas Rutten, who defeated Tank Abbott at UFC 20 by submission. In 2001, the title was vacated when Rutten retired from MMA. The title remained vacant until 2006 when Georges St-Pierre defeated Matt Hughes to become the new welterweight champion.

Since then, St-Pierre has gone on to have one of the most successful MMA careers of all time. He defended his title nine times before vacating it in 2013. Johny Hendricks then won the vacant title by defeating Robbie Lawler at UFC 171.

Hendricks successfully defended his title once before losing it to Lawler in a rematch at UFC 181. Lawler then went on to have one of the longest championship reigns in UFC history, defending his title three times before losing it to Usman at UFC 235.

The welterweight title’s illustrious past

The welterweight title’s illustrious past is filled with big names and even bigger fights. The title was first held by Ken Shamrock, who defended it twice before vacating it to compete in thePRIDE organization. The title then went through a period of transition, changing hands several times before being unified by Matt Hughes. Hughes defended the title a record seven times before losing it to BJ Penn.

Penn held the title for nearly two years before losing it to Georges St-Pierre in a heated rematch. GSP would go on to dominate the division for nearly six years, setting a new record for most title defenses with nine. In 2013, Johny Hendricks finally dethroned GSP in a close fight that many still debate to this day. Hendricks then lost the title in his very next fight to Robbie Lawler in one of the greatest UFC fights of all time. Lawler would go on to defend the title twice more before losing it to Tyron Woodley in 2016.

And that brings us up to date! Woodley is currently the UFC Welterweight Champion and he has defended his title twice so far against Stephen Thompson and Darren Till. Who knows who he will defend it against next?

The current state of the welterweight division

As of June 2020, the current UFC welterweight champion is Kamaru Usman. Usman won the title in 2019 after defeating then-champion Tyron Woodley.

Usman’s first title defense

At UFC 235, Usman successfully defended his title against former lightweight champion and interim welterweight titleholder, Rafael dos Anjos. Usman won the fight via unanimous decision, becoming the first African-born UFC champion. He then went on to defend his title against former welterweight champion, Robbie Lawler, at UFC 235. Usman won the fight via TKO in the second round, successfully defended his title for the second time.

The future of the welterweight division

The UFC welterweight division is one of the most stacked and competitive weight classes in all of MMA. For years, the welterweight title has been held by some of the biggest names in the sport, including Georges St-Pierre, Matt Hughes, and Robbie Lawler.

The current welterweight champion is Kamaru Usman, who won the title in 2019. Usman is widely considered to be one of the best pound-for-pound fighters in the world, and he is undefeated in the UFC.

The future of the welterweight division is very bright, with a number of talented young fighters such as Jorge Masvidal and Leon Edwards poised to challenge for the title in the coming years.

Who could be the next welterweight champion?

At present, the UFC Welterweight Championship is held by Kamaru Usman. However, there are a number of contenders for the title who could potentially take the belt from him in the near future.

Some of the top welterweight fighters in the world today include Jorge Masvidal, Colby Covington, Leon Edwards, and Gilbert Burns. All of these athletes have the potential to give Usman a run for his money and become the new UFC Welterweight Champion.

Only time will tell who will ultimately emerge as the victor in this highly competitive division. Whoever comes out on top, one thing is for sure – it is going to be an exciting fight!

The other top contenders in the welterweight division

In order to become the UFC welterweight champion, a fighter needs to not only defeat the current titleholder, but also stand out amongst the other top contenders in the division. These are some of the other welterweights who have a chance at becoming champion.

Tyron Woodley is one of the top contenders in the welterweight division. He is the current titleholder and has defended his belt four times. He is a well-rounded fighter with good striking and grappling skills.

Jorge Masvidal is another top contender in the welterweight division. He is a dangerous striker with good grappling skills. He has won four of his last five fights, with his only loss coming to Woodley.

Kamaru Usman is also a top contender in the welterweight division. He is a well-rounded fighter with good striking and wrestling skills. He has won eleven straight fights, including nine by knockout or submission.

What’s next for Usman?

Since Kamaru Usman won the UFC welterweight title in December 2019, he has defended it twice successfully. Usman is currently on a 17-fight winning streak, with his last loss coming in 2013.

In his most recent title defense, Usman defeated Jorge Masvidal via unanimous decision. Prior to that, he beat Gilbert Burns via TKO in the main event of UFC 258.

So, what’s next for Usman? That’s a good question.

There are a few potential contenders for Usman’s title, but no clear-cut No. 1 contender at the moment. Some of the names that have been mentioned as possibilities for Usman’s next fight include Conor McGregor, Nate Diaz, and Leon Edwards.

Of those three, McGregor is probably the biggest name and would likely generate the most interest from fans. However, McGregor is currently focused on his boxing career and it’s unclear when or if he will return to MMA.

Diaz is another possibility. He hasn’t fought since November 2019, but he has expressed interest in returning to action soon. Edwards is riding a eight-fight winning streak and is ranked No. 3 in the UFC welterweight division. He last fought in December 2020 and is also interested in fighting Usman next.

So, there are a few possible contenders for Usman’s next fight. It will be interesting to see who he ends up fighting next and how that fight plays out.

Scroll to Top